Storm Water Management Program

During the 1990’s, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) amended the Clean Water Act (CWA) and created a two-phased national program to address water pollution emanating from stormwater runoff.

Phase I of the program was designed to address stormwater discharges from the nations’ largest cities. Phase II of the program was designed to address stormwater discharges from smaller Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) (or those that are located in urbanized areas with a population less than 100,000). Under both phases of the program, operators of these systems are required to obtain National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit coverage for their stormwater discharges.

This municipality (or a portion of this municipality) is considered to be a small MS4 and is, therefore, required to comply with the Phase II Stormwater regulations. The Phase II regulations require that a regulated MS4 must “develop, implement and enforce a Stormwater Management Program (SWMP) designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants from the MS4 to the Maximum Extent Practicable (MEP) in order to protect water quality and to satisfy the requirements of the Clean Water Act”.

A regulated MS4’s Stormwater Management Program must satisfy the requirements for each of six required program components, known as Minimum Control Measures (MCMs). These control measures are:

  • Public Education and Outreach
  • Public Involvement and Participation
  • Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  • Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control
  • Post-construction Stormwater Management
  • Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations
Additionally,  the Village of Frankfort is committed to protecting lives and property from flooding.  Information can be found in our Water Resource Management Plan and Stormwater Basin Design Guidelines.